1 Posted: Saturday, February 10, 2018 5:08 PM

I'm going to brew a stout tomorrow so it's ready for winter. Here's my ingredients:

Cooper's Stout can
Cooper's Dark Malt extract 1.5kg (liquid)
100g Cocoa powder
200g choc malt cold steeped overnight
3 X vanilla beans (one for boil, 2 for adding to FV before bottling)
2 X Cooper's kit yeasts rehydrated.
Brew to 19 ltrs.

As above I'm currently steeping the choc malt overnight in the fridge. I'll do a 15 minute boil adding 1 vanilla pod at 10 mins.
I'll soak 2 other vanilla pods in vodka to be added to the FV later on, similar to a dry hop.

My question is this. Would adding dextrose to bump up the ABV have a negative effect on the flavour and body of this beer?
I was thinking of adding either 200 or 300 g of dextrose but I'm worried it'll thin out the mouthfeel and dilute some of the flavour I'm after. Any advice on this please? Cheers.

2 Posted: Saturday, February 10, 2018 8:38 PM

i am no expert but i think it will thin it if you want it stronger just drop the litres or bump it with malt . I havent made stout but i have made strong dark ale and the only type of sugar i would use is belguim candy sugar/inverted sugar homemade isnt hard to do and it just makes it a little sweeter IMHO hope this helps look up inverting sugar cheers Brian

3 Posted: Saturday, February 10, 2018 8:48 PM

the coopers toucan stout has a kilo of dextrose and from what ive read on the thread, it doesnt thin it out

4 Posted: Saturday, February 10, 2018 8:59 PM

Paddybrew:

the coopers toucan stout has a kilo of dextrose and from what ive read on the thread, it doesnt thin it out

Paddy is right the brew has 1 kg of dextrose.My question is why does it thin Apa's and other beers and not stout.I have never tried in belguim style dark ale for that reason ???? just askin if somebody has the answer cheers Brian

5 Posted: Sunday, February 11, 2018 9:43 AM