1 Posted: Tuesday, December 19, 2017 10:10 PM

Alright you all grainers out there. I have limited lager experience but I am after a nice a simple lager recipe for a beer I can drink on a nice hot day.
I have a fermentation fridge so fermenting and lagering at low temperatures is not an issue.

Youngie

2 Posted: Wednesday, December 20, 2017 11:02 AM

First of all calculate and make a starter and ferment @ 10-12 degrees

Show case the clean lager fermentation and malt combo without over powering the hop additions

Simple Vienna lager

23 litre Vienna lager
5.5 kg Vienna Malt
15g magnum @ 60min
30g sazz @ 10min

Second option sub vienna for
4 kg pilsner malt
1.5 kg light munich malt

3 Posted: Wednesday, December 20, 2017 11:21 AM

Hi there Youngie

I recommend you start off with a basic pilsner to test out your lager brewing and fermentation skills. A popular one on here is the old Bohemiam Pils. Kelsey brews it regularly and I think there is a thread on here, if not it will be in Brewday thread (possibly under Bo Pils). I recently did a German Pilsner because I didn't have any Saaz. I used Tettnanger hops and it turned our great!

Someone here recommended fermentation at 10C and use a yeast pitch calculator to make sure you pitch enough healthy yeast. I pitch at 10C, so I need A LOT of yeast that I build up in a starter to 400bn cells for 23L. The yeast I had success with was S-23. W34/70 is very popular also. Yet to try S-189 or any of the liquid strains.

Read up about it, ferment at 10C, raise to 18C after 6 days (or 50% attenuation) for a diacetyl rest, hold it there for a while until it reaches FG, then cold crash for 2 weeks. It's the brulosophy fast lager method. Then I bottle.