1 Posted: Thursday, October 12, 2017 9:06 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to brewing and this is my first time posting on any forums so apologies if this has already been covered…

Basically, I've jumped straight into BIAB and have done five 20L batches in the past four months. I have been using the no-chill method and I have read about the need to adjust the hop schedule to counter the extra isomerisation of the hops as they are exposed to heat for longer. I have a basic fundamental understanding of this but have a question I hope someone can answer for me:

I am about to convert a 50L keg to a brew kettle so that I can brew bigger batches. I read somewhere that it isn't critical to use a food-grade plastic cube and some people simply cover the kettle or rack straight to primary and wait for the wort to cool before pitching the yeast. This appeals to me as it eliminates the need for an extra transfer from vessel to vessel and obviously eliminates the need for a cube altogether. I'm thinking that this should decrease the chance of infection or oxidation as wort only needs to be in two vessels throughout the entire process up to bottling time.

Basically what I need to know is: Will a 40L batch in one vessel take twice as long to cool than a 20L batch under the exact same external conditions? (I'm currently adjusting my hop additions by 10 minutes for 20L batches and if this is the case then I will just adjust by 20mins for 40L batches). OR.. is there some sort of exponential relationship between volume and heat loss that would mean I can't just double the time I delay the hop additions as I double the volume?

Any help with this would be much appreciated and I apologise again if this is a dumb newb question!

Cheers - Chris

2 Posted: Thursday, October 12, 2017 9:22 PM

Hi Chris, and welcome.