1 Posted: Monday, October 09, 2017 2:53 PM

So I'm a complete newb. Made my first batch using the 1.3kg can supplied with the 15L craft brew kit, now bottled and waiting a couple of weeks before trying. I took the manufacturer's word for the OG at 1047 and tested after about 6 days and got 1016. Days 8 and 9 were 1005 so I bottled. Soon after I was passing by the brew shop and was convinced by the proprietor I could use half a 1.7 can without any added sugar/dextrose because it was designed for 23 litres and I would only be filling to 8.5 litres. Mixed up half the can with some hot water and then some cold water and tested the OG. It was only 1026. Using a % alcohol calculator that means an alcohol level of 2.75% - a bit low.

After a bit of faffing around I added some sugar and molasses (it is an ‘Old’ type beer can) and tested again. It was about 1034 but at that stage I thought I'd just cut my losses and put the FV away. At his point I looked on the internet I saw that: a. different temperatures can give different SG results b. you need to calibrate the hydrometer because it might not be accurate.

Sure enough I tested just water and it had a SG of about 996. I tried a few different temperatures and it didn't seem to make any difference. Not completely sure but the temp of the brew may have been around 28 degrees when I tested.

The hydrometer was just the one supplied with the kit so maybe it is cheap and nasty.

I also live in a city that is about 577 metres (1900 feet) above sea level. I wondered if that makes a difference.

Any suggestions? Use the whole can next time? After all it is supposed to be supplemented with 1kg of dextrose anyway.

2 Posted: Monday, October 09, 2017 3:20 PM