1 Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 4:48 PM

Hello,
I'm new to home-brewing. I've just brewed my 4th & 5th batch last week (the 4th of september) & have run into a potential issue that I'm hoping people here can help me resolve.
I've brewed two batches in two seperate FVs on the same day (filled to the 22L mark). Ingredients were the same in each apart from the extracts; one was a coopers lager, the other a homebrand lager.
I used 1kg of dextrose in each & made a tea with some steeped hops, rice syrup (to up the alcohol content a little) & a little nutmeg which I shared equally between the two. I mixed well, waited until the wort cooled to 14 degrees then pitched a packet of saflager yeast (W-34/70) into each. They've been kept together at the same temperature (around 10-12 degrees). It's now been exactly a week and it seems to me that one of them isn't fermenting as there is no CO2 being released through the airlock (the other started releasing CO2 consistently two days after brewing). I've checked and it seems completely airtight. I come to this conclusion as when compressing the FV the only way air can escape or re-enter is through the airlock.
I haven't checked the gravity reading yet. I suppose that would give me some idea whether or not fermentation is occurring or not. Do you have any advice? Should I pitch another pack of yeast?
Any advice much appreciated

2 Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 5:15 PM

Hi Coolman, welcome to the forum.

You answered your own question mate, get the hydrometer out and see whats been happening

Cheers,
Hoppy

3 Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 9:56 PM

If I had a dollar for every time someone got panicky because the airlock wasn't bubbling…