1 Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2017 10:35 AM

I have just bottled my brew after 2 weeks. Im not sure about this as when it got towards the bottom, there was a lot of muck and sludge. Is this normal, as this is only my second time and i didnt bottle my first batch so i dont know what to expect.

With my kit i got the plastic bottles and i ran out of bottles. I put some in lemonade bottles, after a good soaking and washing, will this be ok.

The Pale Ale i brewed has a great colour and tasted ok to me, then again i am just learning.

2 Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2017 10:39 AM

Sludge is normal, it's just yeast and other muck from the wort. You can actually harvest some of this stuff into a clean and sanitised jar and then pitch it into another batch, this might be more useful down the track if you get into buying yeast other than the kit yeast.

The beer should be fine in lemonade bottles, just make sure they are stored away from any light.

3 Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2017 10:39 AM

Perfectly normal Mate…

The longer you chill bottles after secondary fermentation in fridge with upright bottles the cleaner the yeast will settle…its basically cold crash bottle conditioning!

Clear bottles such as lemonade bottles are fine mate just keep them from any light until drinking…

4 Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2017 10:41 AM

Hey Kelsey… happy new year

5 Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2017 10:48 AM

Waylon:

Perfectly normal Mate…

The longer you chill bottles after secondary fermentation in fridge with upright bottles the cleaner the yeast will settle…its basically cold crash bottle conditioning!

Clear bottles such as lemonade bottles are fine mate just keep them from any light until drinking…

Thanks guys.