1 Posted: Wednesday, October 19, 2016 7:04 PM

Hi all,
I invested in a tin of Mangrove Jacks ‘Classic Blonde Dry’ and a few other ingredients this past weekend.
Here's my plan:
The Tin + 500g LDM + 1kg Raw Sugar + Tin yeast + SA05 + 250g Carapils grains.
I have never used grains before but I was told by a man in the brew shop (a fellow punter, not staff) to make a tea - 45 minutes at 75C. He also suggested that he uses the sugar instead of dextrose for more body, mouth feel and head retention…things I want to improve.

Seems simple but what to do with the tea and LDM? Do I let the tea cool to room temp before I add it? Do I boil the LDM separately or can I add it to the tea? Do I need to boil the LDM? Do I need to dissolve the sugar?

All advice is appreciated.

BTW, I have whinged previously about a slight metallic twang in most of my brews thus far. I am going to be extra extra sharp when cleaning with new bottle of local brew shop cleaner and then be ruthless with the santiser (phosphoric acid based).

Cheers
Ralph

2 Posted: Wednesday, October 19, 2016 8:52 PM

Sugar won't provide more body and head retention, it just ferments away the same as dextrose does, and actually diminishes body and head retention.

Head forming and retention is a product of different proteins that come from malt, and to a lesser degree hop compounds. If you want to increase this then you should be using as much malt as possible, not a shitload of sugar.

Similarly, body and mouthfeel are contributed by malt as well, mainly dextrins that aren't fermented by the yeast. Obviously raw sugar or dextrose doesn't contain any of these which is why using it in large amounts diminishes the body and mouthfeel.

The biggest problem with that much sugar is that the flavour often ends up rubbish as well. Cidery, twangy. Awful.