Partner Return, New Sponsor and more of the Longlist

Partner Return, New Sponsor and more of the Longlist

The 9th Coopers AMP is excited to announce that PPCA are returning as a Principal Partner for the ninth consecutive year, and will provide the $30,000 prize money to be awarded to the winner in March 2014.

The ongoing commitment of PPCA provides invaluable support to The 9th Coopers AMP and all of the artists involved. PPCA CEO Dan Rosen said today, “PPCA is delighted to again be on board as the $30,000 major prize sponsor of The AMP – a prize that is close to our hearts, having been a principle partner since day one”.

The renewal of this long-standing relationship between PPCA and The 9th Coopers AMP comes at a time when new beginnings are also being celebrated, and we are pleased to warmly welcome Australia’s leading music streaming service, Spotify, as a new Industry Sponsor.

Working together, Spotify and The 9th Coopers AMP will be able to significantly increase the exposure of the Longlisted and Shortlisted artists by providing an opportunity via The 9th Coopers AMP website to play the music of the Longlisted artists, as well as feature playlists of former Winners and former Shortlisted artists. There will be further announcements in the future regarding joint Spotify/Coopers AMP initiatives primarily focusing on events.

“We’re proud to be supporting one of Australia’s most respected music prizes, and the artists it aims to reward. 2013 has been a truly amazing year for excellence in Australian music and we can’t wait to see the winners announced, it’s going to be a hotly contested trophy” says Serena Leith, Spotify’s Marketing Manager Australia & New Zealand.

As the artists are what The 9th Coopers AMP is all about, we are proud to announce the next group of seven Longlisted albums in The 9th Coopers AMP. Joining the prestigious Longlist in the lead up to the announcement of this year’s winner, are the following albums that have been selected by the judges:

‘Surrender To Victory’ by The Tongue

‘Hex Lover Killer’ by The Delta Riggs

‘Deleted Scenes’ by Standish/Carlyon

‘Homosapien’ by PVT

‘In Blood Memory’ by Jen Cloher

‘She Beats’ by Beaches

‘Embracism’ by Kirin J.Callinan

These artists join the already announced Longlist that is so far made up of the following releases:

‘I See Seaweed’ by The Drones

‘Familiar Stranger’ by Bob Evans

‘Kiss My Apocalypse’ by Abbe May

‘Not Art’ by Big Scary

‘The Cold Light Of Day’ by Dialectrix

‘Push The Sky Away’ by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

We congratulate all of the artists whose albums have made the Longlist so far!

The 9th Coopers AMP is open to albums released for the first time (no re-releases, re-packages, best ofs, compilations etc.) on or after January 1st 2013*. We will accept albums up until 5pm on November 1st – any albums scheduled for release in November or December 2013 are still eligible but advance copies on CD must be sent by the cut-off date/time.

Hermitude were announced in March this year as the winner of The 8th Coopers AMP. In addition to collecting $30,000 in prize money, courtesy of PPCA, Hermitude join the prestigious list of previous AMP winners The Jezabels (2011), Cloud Control (2010), Lisa Mitchell (2009), Eddie Current Suppression Ring (2008), The Mess Hall (2007), Augie March (2006) and inaugural winners The Drones (2005).

More Longlist announcements to come soon!

* We must receive all albums on CD. If your album is a digital only release please send us a CD-R in correct track order with a track listing. CDs should be sent to: The 9th Coopers AMP, D-Star Digital, Level 2, 233-235 Bulwara Road, Ultimo, NSW, 2007

PLEASE NOTE: Once you have sent us your album please email to advise the artist name, album title and contact details. If your album is a digital only release please also email us the track listing.

For any further information, please contact:

Valerie MacIver at VMPR: / 02 9415 1424