REMI wins the 10th Australian Music Prize

REMI wins the 10th Australian Music Prize

Coopers is proud to announce REMI as the winner of the 10th Coopers Australian Music Prize for his album ‘Raw X Infinity’.

23-year-old Melbourne artist REMI and musical collaborator Sensible J are one of the fastest-rising hip-hop acts in Australia and are quickly gaining the attention of international tastemakers. REMI has the ability to whip crowds into a frenzy and their new album ‘Raw X Infinity’ has received numerous awards, nominations and critical acclaim from right across the globe.

REMI said, "It's absolutely crazy. We put everything we could into this album and to get this kind of recognition is amazing. I mean, we made this album in Sensible J's spare bedroom so to be nominated at this level is pretty mind-blowing. We really just want to say a massive thanks to anyone who has listened to it closely and supported us so far."

Taking home $30,000 in prize money courtesy of PPCA, REMI was officially announced tonight as the winner of the 10th Coopers AMP at the AMPed Up in Conversation event, presented by PPCA and held at the Paddington Town Hall in Sydney.

The invite only event celebrated the win by REMI as well as the respected and peerless history of the decade long Coopers AMP, and was attended by the Shortlisted artists alongside more than 200 industry and media guests.

AMPed Up in Conversation also featured leading artist managers John Watson (Gotye, Silverchair, Cold Chisel) and Scott MacLachlan (Lorde) in conversation, moderated by Fairfax Senior Music Writer (and Coopers AMP judge) Bernard Zuel.

Dan Rosen, Chief Executive Officer of PPCA said, “On behalf of all at PPCA, it is an honour to present REMI with a cheque for $30,000 for what was truly a remarkable album and a worthy addition to the growing list of AMP winners that have left their mark on the Australian music scene. Congratulations to REMI and we hope this contribution from PPCA will provide further assistance in taking his music to the world.”

Cam Pearce, National Marketing Director at Coopers said, “The 10th Coopers AMP has once again seen so many great bands participate in the industry awards, Coopers would like to congratulate REMI on winning The 10th Australian Music Prize. The Coopers AMP continues to recognise and reward success in Australian music, an industry in which Coopers is proud to support.”

REMI ‘s album was selected by the expert 15 member industry judging panel made up of artists, media and retailers from across Australia including Chairperson Dave Faulkner (Hoodoo Gurus), Chris Berkley (Red Eye Records, Sydney), Mikey Cahill (New Ltd), Bryget Chrisfield (The Music), Jen Cloher (artist), Mike Glynn (JB Hi FI), Chris Johnston (Fairfax), Tim Levinson (Urthboy), Sam Lockwood (The Jezabels), Shannon Logan (Jet Black Cat Music, Brisbane), Nate Nott (Polyester Records, Melbourne), Christopher Powell (Blackwood Sounds, Adelaide), Sarah Smith (Sound Alliance), Myf Warhurst (Double J), and Bernard Zuel (Fairfax). 

Coopers AMP Founder and Director Scott B. Murphy said, “REMI’s win reflects all that we aim to achieve each year, as the Coopers AMP seeks to recognise Australian music of excellence across all genres. It’s amazing to see hip-hop in Australia grow so quickly. I want to congratulate REMI on his win, and hope that the $30,000 provided by PPCA will allow him to continue inspiring us with great music.”

From a Longlist of 65 albums and a Shortlist of nine albums - with every album released for the first time between January 1 and December 31 in 2014 being eligible - REMI was chosen as the winner in the search to acknowledge and reward excellence in Australian music.

The 10th Coopers AMP Shortlisted albums are: ‘About Face’ by #1 Dads, ‘Built On Glass’ by Chet Faker, ’Gon' Boogaloo' by C.W. Stoneking, ‘Grassed Inn’ by Blank Realm, ‘Laura Jean’ by Laura Jean, ‘Raw X Infinty’ by REMI, 'Tales' by The Peep Tempel, 'The Sleeper' by Caitlin Park and ‘Typical System’ by Total Control.

REMI's win follows previous Coopers AMP winners:

2013 – ‘Not Art’ by Big Scary
2012 – ‘Hyperparadise’ by Hermitude
2011 – ‘Prisoner’ by The Jezabels
2010 – ‘Bliss Release’ by Cloud Control
2009 – ‘Wonder’ by Lisa Mitchell
2008 – ‘Primary Colours’ by Eddie Current Suppression Ring
2007 – ‘Devil’s Elbow’ by The Mess Hall
2006 – ‘Moo, You Bloody Choir’ by Augie March
2005 – ‘Wait Long By The River and the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By’ by The Drones

The 10th Coopers AMP was made possible by the loyal support provided by our Founding Sponsor and Principal Partner PPCA, Naming Rights Partner Coopers and Industry Sponsor Spotify.