Big Scary win the 9th Australian Music Prize!

Big Scary win the 9th Australian Music Prize!

The 9th Coopers AMP is proud to announce Big Scary as the winner of the 9th Australian Music Prize for their album ‘Not Art’, and recipient of $30,000 in prize money courtesy of principal partner PPCA.

Big Scary’s Tom Iansek and Joanna Syme first emerged from Melbourne’s music scene in 2006, and ‘Not Art’ is their second album. Stimulated by the dense production ethic and clipped, sampled nature ofhip-hop,the pair took the genre’s distinctive sound and found unique approaches to apply it to their uncluttered pop sensibilities.

Joanna Syme said, "We're huge fans of the AMP - any award that has bands like The Mess Hall and Eddy Current Suppression Ring in its short history of winners has gotta be doing something right. That's why it's a huge honour to be awarded this year's prize. We'd like to acknowledge and praise all the other artists - Short- listed,Long-listedand beyond. There's been a bunch of Australian albums made in the last year that we're in awe of. Thanks so much to Coopers and to the judges for putting in the long (but surely enjoyable?) hours of listening and organising. This prize shines a spotlight on albums that might not have a place in other award categories. Cheers!"

Big Scary were officially announced as the winner at the invite only Amped Up in Conversation event – presented by PPCA and Coopers – held at the Basement in Sydney, attended by the Shortlisted artists along with industry and media.

Dan Rosen, CEO PPCA said, “Support for local artists has been the cornerstone of PPCA for over 40 years, therefore we are honoured to have been the major prize sponsor of the Australian Music Prize since day one. We hope PPCA’s $30,000 contribution will assist in developing Big Scary’s career and help take their music to the world.”

As long time supporters of local talent in Australia, Cam Pearce, National Marketing Director at Coopers, AMP’s Naming Rights Partner said, “It is testament to the award (AMP) that so many great bands see the benefit in being involved with such a respected industry award. Coopers has a proud history of involvement with Australian music.”

Amped Up in Conversation featured Grammy Award winning album producer Steve Lillywhite as this year’s international guest speaker, who has worked with such artists as The Rolling Stones, U2, Peter Gabriel, Simple Minds and Morrissey.

Steve Lillywhite said, “The quality of all the Shortlisted artists was exceptionally high. I especially like Big Scary, the sonic quality of their album works really well.”

Big Scary’s album ‘Not Art’ was selected by the 11 member judging panel made up of artists, journalists and music retailers from across Australia including Dave Faulkner (Chairperson), Bernard Zuel (Sydney Morning Herald), Renee Geyer, Tim Levinson (Urthboy), Chris Johnston (The Age), Mikey Cahill (Herald Sun), Mike Glynn (JB Hi FI), Christopher Powell (Blackwood Sounds, Adelaide – retail), Shannon Logan (Jet Black Cat Music, Brisbane – retail), Chris Berkley (Red Eye Records, Sydney – retail) and Nate Nott (Polyester Records, Melbourne – retail).

AMP Founder and Director Scott Murphy said, “Our ongoing aim has always been to seek and recognise

Australian music of excellence across all genres. Big Scary’s win is a reflection of everything we set out to achieve each year. Big congratulations to Jo and Tom who, thanks to PPCA, have $30,000 to continue making great music”.

The Coopers AMP has the unique distinction of being the only music award that doesn't separate artists by genre or other arbitrary distinctions. Every album has an equal chance of winning the AMP, whether it is commercial or one from the musical "fringe", electronic or acoustic, experimental or traditional.

The 9th Coopers AMP was proudly supported by PPCA as Principal Partner for the ninth consecutive year, and Australia’s leading music streaming service Spotify were warmly welcomed as a new Industry Sponsor. This year’s AMP also featured the inaugural Highly Regarded list of 25 artists, whose albums were recognised alongside the Longlist.

The handpicked group of 43 artists who made the 9th Coopers AMP Longlist, became a smaller select group of 9 Shortlisted artists on January 26.

Big Scary were chosen from the group of Shortlisted artists, which this year includes Beaches (‘She Beats’), Big Scary (‘Not Art’), Cloud Control (‘Dream Cave’), Dialectrix (‘The Cold Light Of Day’), Horrorshow (‘King Amongst Many’), Jagwar Ma (‘Howlin’’), Jen Cloher (‘In Blood Memory’), Jimblah (‘Phoenix’) and Kirin J Callinan (‘Embracism’).

Big Scary’s win follows Hermitude who were the 2012 Coopers AMP winners.