The Coopers AMP Returns

The Coopers AMP Returns

For nine years now The Coopers AMP has been listening to, discovering, rewarding and promoting Australian music of excellence, and in 2013 we’re doing it again!

Hermitude were announced in March this year as the winner of The 8th Coopers AMP. In addition to collecting $30,000 in prize money, Hermitude join the prestigious list of previous AMP winners The Jezabels (2011), Cloud Control (2010), Lisa Mitchell (2009), Eddie Current Suppression Ring (2008), The Mess Hall (2007), Augie March (2006) and inaugural winners The Drones (2005).

During The 8th Coopers AMP our judges listened to 322 albums - of which 71 were Longlisted. We expect similar numbers this year. Please see below for definitions which provide guidelines on what will be accepted.


The 9th Coopers AMP is pleased to announce that the following albums have already been Longlisted by the judges:

  • I See Seaweed by The Drones
  • Familiar Strangers by Bob Evans
  • Kiss My Apocalypse by Abbe May
  • Not Art by Big Scray
  • The Cold Light of Day by Dialectrix
  • Push The Shy Away by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds 

Bob Evans said upon hearing the news: “What a lovely surprise it is to be longlisted for The Coopers AMP! Being recognised by your peers for your contribution to the common good is always nice and this is certainly no exception as I am very familiar with what the Coopers AMP stands for. Cheers!”

You can listen to the above six albums for FREE. Follow The Coopers AMP on Spotify.

More longlisted albums will be announced soon. To find out more, go to